Community VBS – Ladies Class

It’s mid-August already and do you know what that means?  School is about to begin for our 1st grader.  As much as I am looking forward to school starting up again, I am sad that our summer is coming to an end.  So let’s rewind a little bit and let me catch up on posting about our summer activities.

Back to Community Vacation Bible School

While Micah was at the Main Campus during Community VBS, I was part of the VBS Ladies Class (aka VBS Women’s Bible Study).  We met at the same time as VBS and we gathered together for worship, brunch, testimonies, bible study, small group discussion and prayer.  Most of us had kids who attended the Community VBS, so while the kids were in their classes, we ladies got together for our time of fellowship and learning.  We also had the same bible study theme as our kids, so it was definitely fun to be learning the same things they were.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fearfulness, but one of power, love and sound judgement.” ~2 Timothy 1:7

“Facing Fear, Trusting God” was the theme for VBS and this was such a great theme for me to study during this time in my life.  Let me tell you…I have a lot of fears that I need to give up to God.  I have fears about parenting, how my kids are going to turn out, relationships, my marriage, finances, etc…the list goes on and on.  Do any of you have these same fears?  Maybe not all of them, but perhaps one or two like me?  So what can I do about these fears?  For me, it’s really about being honest to God about my fears and lifting them up to Him in prayer…not just once, but often!  I’m learning more and more about praying for everything, even the small things.  Do I have it all under control now?  No way!  I am a work in progress and God is working in me!  Thank you, God!  =)

We were blessed during those 9 days in our Ladies Class.  The Holy Spirit was definitely at work in each of our hearts.  We heard great testimonies, shed many tears, and made new friends.  It was for sure one of the highlights of my summer.

Here are a few pictures…

We would gather in this room for worship, brunch and to listen to a testimony before breaking up into our small groups. 70+ women were a part of this study.  IMG_5977

I had the privilege of serving on the hospitality team again this year.  Along with two others, I helped set out the coffee/drinks/food in the mornings and cleaned up afterwards.  IMG_5932 copyIMG_5931 copyI’m already looking forward to this class next summer.  Thank goodness I can keep in touch with everyone through email, facebook and MOPS!  =)

3 thoughts on “Community VBS – Ladies Class

  1. Rhonda Sittig

    What a great idea– I would love to have that our church but the VBS takes up all the space! It sounded like such a worthwhile time…

    1. Rhonda, our Community VBS is hosted by three churches. Most of the kids are on the main campus at one church and the Ladies Class meets at another church about 2.5 blocks away. Is there another church that you can team up with or just to use their space? It was a great time! =)

Leave a Reply

