Tommy Nelson Twitter Party

I recently joined the world of Twitter.  I’m slowly getting the hang of things and when I say “slowly,” I really mean slowly.  I’m hoping that my use of Twitter will improve and my tweets become more interesting.  =)  You can check out my twitter profile and follow me here.

I joined in on my very first Twitter party yesterday evening.  It was the Tommy Nelson Twitter Party hosted by (@TheSamiCone@MyFourMonkeys & @PenningtonPoint), along with @ThomasNelson & @TommyNelson.reading081-300x300

Our discussion included tweets about summer reading, what we do/ tips to  encourage our kids to read during the summer, books they enjoy reading, and whether or not we reward our kids’ summer reading.  They also gave away four Tommy Nelson books during the party.

The tweets were fast and I really had to concentrate or I would miss something.  Great ideas, tips, and encouraging words were traded back and forth.  I encourage summer reading for my kids by signing them up for our local libraries summer reading programs. Even my almost 2 year old can sign up for the pre-reader programs.  The kids’ incentive to read or be read to earns them prizes, like free books, passes to the zoo and other local museums, vouchers for free ice cream and pizza, and entry to a carnival hosted by the library. Barnes and Noble and Pottery Barn Kids also have summer reading challenges that the kids can be a part of.

One of the things that came out of this party was an idea to do a book swap with friends or with my Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) group.  We can bring books that we no longer read and swap them for books that other moms bring.  It’s a nice, free way to get “new” books.  I hope we can make it happen this year.  =)

Remember when I said they gave away books during the twitter party?  Well..I won one of them!  I will be receiving “No Place Like Holmes” by Jason Lethcoe.

1400317215.jpg

I plan to give this book to our godson (age 8).  I think he might enjoy reading something like this.

Thanks @TheSamiCone@MyFourMonkeys@PenningtonPoint & @TommyNelson for hosting a very fun and informative twitter party!

How do you encourage summer reading for your kids?  Please share your tips and your kids’ favorite books!

2 thoughts on “Tommy Nelson Twitter Party

Leave a Reply

