Meet Belen

Meet Belen, the newest member of our family!  

Belen is one of our World Vision sponsored children.  Isn’t she adorable?  What makes Belen even more special to us is that she shares the exact same birthday as Rebekah. They were born on July 4, 2011.  =)

Although we’ve been sponsoring another WV girl (Trinalin) for years, I felt God nudging me to sign up to sponsor another child.  At the end of April, I went to a women’s event at Redwood Chapel Community Church and the guest speaker/singer had a World Vision table set up with information/pictures of children waiting to be sponsored.  I had heard about people who requested to sponsor a boy/girl with the same name or birthday as their own child, so I decided to do the same.  I filled out the form and put in a request to sponsor a little girl who shares the same birthday as my Rebekah.  A couple of months later, I received the official packet in the mail with Belen’s picture and information about her family and the community that she lives in.  I was so excited to see her cute, chubby cheeked face!  I sent her a letter and gift for her 1st birthday…I hope she received it.  🙂

We can’t wait to get to know this little girl and watch her grow up with Rebekah.  We hope this sponsorship will not only provide Belen and her family with life-changing basics like clean water, nutritious food, health care, and education, but I pray that they will be nurtured spiritually and know Jesus in their hearts.

2 thoughts on “Meet Belen

Leave a Reply

